Château de Chinon
Chinon, a small town of great renown, surrounded by precious vineyards, offers visitors its narrow cobbled streets with half-timbered houses and its lively little squares, under the protective eye of its monumental fortress, and its prestigious visitors Joan of Arc and Richard the Lionheart.
The best way to visit Chinon is on foot: from its fortress which towers over the town you can reach the town centre either by taking the venerable flights of paved steps or the much more contemporary glass lift. Many houses full of character, churches and collegiate churches line the streets where the pedestrians rule and can make their way to the banks of the River Vienne, the beach and the guinguette for a delightful spot of lazing around.
Château de Rigny Ussé
Enter the magical world of Ussé,
Sleeping Beauty’s castle.
Once upon a time there was a fairy tale castle overlooking the rivers Indre and Loire…it was so marvellous that Charles Perrault took it as inspiration for his tale of Sleeping Beauty.
Whether you are young or old, step inside the castle and marvel as the fairy tale springs to life before your very eyes. Follow in the footsteps of Vauban, Perrault, Chateaubriand, Le Nôtre and the Blacas family who still live in this illustrious Loire Valley château today.
Château de Saumur
A castle labeled Museum of France...
Symbol of the city of Saumur it dominates, the castle is an old fortress transformed into a palace by the Dukes of Anjou (XIV and XV century), including King René. It then becomes the residence of the governors of the city, prison, then deposit of arms and ammunition. In 1906, the castle was bought by the City to house the municipal museum, now labeled Museum of France. A rich collection of decorative arts currently occupies the first floor of the North and East wings. Part of the horse collection, gathering objects from antiquity to the early twentieth century, is exposed in the former abbey. The gardens of the castle offer an exceptional panorama on the Loire and the city. In summer, entertainment is offered for the whole family.
EDF CNPE Chinon, Centrale Nucleaire 80, Avoine, France
Musée de L'Atome EDF Chinon
La centrale EDF de Chinon propose des visites de « La Boule », le 11 juillet, le 1er août, le 12 septembre, le 24 octobre, le 21 novembre et le 19 décembre. Deux créneaux sont possibles : de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 17h.
Une conférence suivie d’une visite guidée de la Boule sont proposées aux visiteurs. Ils pourront découvrir la salle de commandes et accéder à l’intérieur de « La Boule ». Cette visite est ouverte aux adultes et aux enfants à partir de 12 ans.
Cette sphère, « La Boule » qui culmine à quelque 47 mètres de hauteur, fut initialement le tout premier réacteur nucléaire à usage civil en France. Construit à partir de 1957, ce réacteur est entré en service en 1963 et a produit de l’électricité jusqu’en 1973. « La Boule » s’est progressivement reconvertie en musée de l’Atome et accueille désormais du public.
Inscription obligatoire au plus tard 1 mois avant la date de la visite auprès du Centre d’information du public de la Centrale de Chinon par téléphone au 02.47.98.77.77 ou par mail à firstname.lastname@example.org.
Village de Candes Saint Martin
Visite du village Candes
Perched on a hillside where the Loire and Vienne rivers meet, the village of Candes-Saint-Martin, listed among the most beautiful villages of France, offers visitors a wonderful view from the bridge over the Vienne.
Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine, Rue de Cholet, Doué-en-Anjou, France
Bioparc de Doué-la-Fontaine
Our vision is one of a world where man reconciles with nature…
• Ignite emotion through immersion
We call on the natural and cultural richness of the park to create atmospheres reminiscent of the animals’ natural habitats.
• Represent species from endangered wildernesses
Guided by our experience and our encounters, we welcome animals whose presence at the Bioparc shows the survival difficulties of their wild cousins.
• Be implicated in their country of origin
Throughout the world, and consistent with the human populations, we assist and support local associations dedicated to the preservation of endangered species or valued and valuable natural environments.
• Turn the park into an exchange and awareness raising space
We wish to pass on the values of sharing and respect from our experience with men and nature.
Welcome to the BIOPARC of Doué la Fontaine, the park of life.
HISTORY OF THE MONUMENT
The Château d'Azay-le-Rideau was built on an island in the Indre River under the patronage of King Francis the First. A subtle blend of French tradition and innovative Italian decor, it is an icon of the new art of building in the Loire Valley in the 16th century. Its successive owners have helped to make it the most architecturally harmonious treasure in the Loire Valley. In 1905, the Château d’Azay-le-Rideau came under State ownership.
A major restoration project was undertaken by the Centre des Monuments Nationaux. This restoration has fully restored the slate roofing and repair the remarkable early 16th century framework.
Château et jardins de Vilandry
THE HISTORY OF THE CHATEAU AND THE GARDENS OF VILLANDRY FROM RENAISSANCE TO THE 19th CENTURY
The chateau of Villandry is inhabited since the Renaissance. Each owner, including Jean Le Breton, minister of Francis I, the Marquis de Castellane, ambassador of Louis XV, Jerome Bonaparte, brother of Napoleon I, Joachim Carvallo, helped to make Villandry one of the most beautiful chateaux of the Loire.
Château de Langeais
Foulque Nerra’s château
Around the year 1000, two great lords, the Count of Anjou, Foulques Nerra, and the Count of Blois, Eudes I, fought over the Touraine. At the end of the 10th century, Foulques Nerra conquered Langeais, between Tours and Saumur, and founded a fortress on the promontory overhanging the Loire. A turbulent history then began for Langeais, in turn occupied by the Counts of Blois and of Anjou. With the rest of the Touraine, Langeais finally remained in the hands of the House of Anjou then the Angevin dynasty of the House of Plantagenet until the end of the 12th century. In 1206, Langeais became part of the Crown lands of France following the French king Philippe Auguste’s victories. During the Hundred Years War, armed bands occupied the fortress. Charles VII bought it in 1422, then ordered that it be destroyed, except for the keep. That keep, moreover, is one of the oldest in stone still standing today.